Weeky Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons

Here in the Southern Cape, spring and autumn are short-lived seasons. It seems like only the other day we were in winter, and by the beginning of November we were well into summer. I took these photos of two trees over a three month period, to show just quick the changes are.

@LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Winter – Mid-August ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

@LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Early Spring – Mid-September ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

@LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Late Spring – Early October ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

@LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Summer – Late October ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Photography

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

32 Comments on “Weeky Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons”

  1. Eha
    December 9, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    What a fascinating sequence! Especially the one month: September > October, but what are the trees? Almost like jacaranda leaves, but wrong shaped tree and no flowers to start! I am at a height of 200 metres and 40 kms inland: our spring is also short, but we have a glorious long autumn from mid-March to nearly June!

    • December 10, 2012 at 6:10 am #

      I wish now that I had taken photos at more regular intervals. I don’t know what the trees are – except that they are not Jacarandas! 🙂 I’ve heard that they are exotic to South Africa. We live on a coastal plateau – about 25 kms from the sea. We have the same thing – short spring, longer autumn.

  2. December 9, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    We also have one of these trees in our garden, and I was amazed at how quickly it went from bare to full leaved. Great sequence of photographs, must remember to do this with our tree next year!

    • December 10, 2012 at 6:11 am #

      Lu, do you know what kind of trees they are? It would be interesting to take more regular photos (say once a week). Like a time-lapse sequence.

      • December 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

        I don’t – but I’m going to have a look through my “Ultimate Book of Trees and Shrubs for South African Gardeners” by Kristo Pienaar. I’m sure he’ll be able to tell me in due course!
        A time-lapse sequence would be very cool! – It would make a cool slideshow!

      • December 10, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

        Lisa, I think it may be known as Bead Tree.
        Only thing is, I haven’t yet had the chance to observe it during all 4 seasons. Does it flower and are there seeds?
        See this image which led me to the name,..
        http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/showimage/133516/#b

      • December 10, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

        I’ve sent you an email with some more photos. 🙂

      • December 11, 2012 at 8:13 am #

        Hi Lisa, I tried to reply yesterday via email, but it seems as though you might not have received it. Johan immediately called it a “Mophead”
        Aka Robinia pseudoacacia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robinia_pseudoacacia & http://www.havlis.cz/karta_en.php?kytkaid=460
        Aka mophead acacia…
        It rarely flowers, which is why you wouldn’t have noticed any!
        Keep well, Lu

      • December 11, 2012 at 8:26 am #

        Thanks Lu! I didn’t get your email from last night. Am so glad to hear that I didn’t miss the flowering event – that would have made me REALLY unobservant!

      • December 11, 2012 at 8:36 am #

        Yes – we have a winner!!! Just checked out more photos of the leaf arrangement etc. Thanks to Johan!

  3. December 9, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    Love seeing the greenery as we are blanketed in white now!

    • December 10, 2012 at 6:15 am #

      The area we live in stays green all year around. We rarely get extremely cold weather and have rainfall throughout the year. I hope that you post lots of snow photos this winter! 🙂

      • December 12, 2012 at 12:21 am #

        Ah…lucky! I’m sure it is beautiful! Yes as long as we get the snow, I’ll take pictures of it! So beautiful. Today the sun captured it and it glistened like a million diamonds!

  4. December 9, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    It just reminds me again how fast winter disappears in South-Africa. I come from South Africa but haven’t been home in 2 years, looking forwards to seeing a green and sunny South Africa this Christmas!!

    • December 10, 2012 at 6:19 am #

      Had a look at your photo challenge post. Sounds like you could do with some thawing out! Summer started really early here this year, and we have already had temperatures that we normally only experience in January.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

  5. December 10, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    Everything looks so much better when leaves are on the trees- to me anyway.

    • December 10, 2012 at 6:24 am #

      I like the tree “silhouettes” in winter. Creates an interested pattern against the sky. But in summer the trees really come alive with birds nesting in the trees etc.

  6. December 10, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    So simple … and yet so powerful a depiction of the ever-changing renewal of our earth — and how beautiful it is!!! I love your trees and how they transform the look of your house !

    • December 10, 2012 at 6:22 am #

      If one looks at the bare trees in winter, it’s hard to believe how dense the leaves get in summer. In summer you can barely see our front door from the road. These photos were taken from our front door looking towards the neighbour’s house across the road.

  7. December 10, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    I like this sequence of photos – and how you’ve taken them from the same vantage point; it really illustrates the effect of the seasons. We have a plane tree growing outside on our verge, and are always astounded how quickly things change – it seems like one day it’s barren and bare, a day later there’s the first buds, and a couple of days afterwards, there’s an explosion of leaves. The birds love it, of course!

    • December 11, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      When I took the first photo I just liked the look of the bare branches against the grey winter sky. But then when I saw the first leaves, I thought recording a sequence might be nice. I regret not taking more photos on a regular basis though. Will have to wait for next year now . . .

      • December 11, 2012 at 8:06 am #

        I think those sequences look particularly striking when they’re taken from the same perspective, a bit like time-lapse photography. The photos I’ve taken of our plane tree have all been from different angles.

      • December 11, 2012 at 8:28 am #

        In this case, if you want to take a photograph with both trees in the frame, you have only one spot to take it from! I stood in front of the front door facing the road.

  8. December 10, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    Nice sequence, Lisa!

    • December 11, 2012 at 8:03 am #

      Thank you, Stefano! I appreciate you visiting my blog and leaving a comment. 🙂

  9. December 11, 2012 at 2:41 am #

    Love the “time lapse” effect of the photos.
    I once read about a photography student who’s final project was to take a picture from the same spot each day of the year. Then she strung the photos together digitally and when you pressed play it seemed extraordinary to watch an entire year pass before your eyes.

    • December 11, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      Thanks Jackie! My plan is next year to take more photos (say one a week) and do a better “time lapse” thing. But it is difficult. I’m not away from home a lot, but we usually go on vacation in August/September. The critical time if you’re trying to document the spring changes.

  10. December 11, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    Waw! You can shoot it every season. Great!

    • December 11, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      Yes, I just wish I had taken more photos at more regular intervals. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

      • December 11, 2012 at 9:44 am #

        You are welcome 🙂

  11. December 11, 2012 at 3:52 am #

    Always wanted to do the collection of four seasons tree, but could never find the right tree! Love it!

    • December 11, 2012 at 8:19 am #

      Luckily this one is in our garden, so I didn’t have to look too far. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

