Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

What started off as an evening photo-walk to capture the Christmas lights down our main street, turned into photographing two of the local churches. It was the first time I’d really realised that the churches are beautiful lit up at night. This particular night by a bright full moon as well artificially.

©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

I hope, at some stage, to take photos of the many other churches around town, at night.

To join the fun go to Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Photography

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

15 Comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination”

  1. January 15, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    Wow, those are two stunning photos. Well done.

    • January 15, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

      Thanks Heather! It was really an experiment to see whether I could do night-time photography. Turned out better than I’d hoped for.

  2. January 15, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    Lovely! Did you use a tripod, Lisa?

    • January 15, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks Reggie! No, no tripod. I was using my compact camera, so my hands were quite steady.

  3. January 15, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    Those are great pictures. The second one, especially, is spectacular.

    • January 15, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      Thanks Laura! I got lucky with the full moon being behind the church and the wispy cloudy drifting by.

  4. vanecktharien
    January 15, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Lovely pictures, reminding me very vividly of SA and its beautiful churches

    • January 16, 2013 at 7:39 am #

      You’re right – even the smallest country towns often have at least one beautiful church.

      Thank you for visiting my blog and for your kind comment! 🙂

      • vanecktharien
        January 19, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

        We now love in Belgium and the smallest town will have a beautiful church. The rest of the town sort of developed around the church

  5. January 15, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    I also like the second one best, although they are both beauties!

    • January 16, 2013 at 7:45 am #

      Both churches date back to the mid-1800s, but have been beautifully maintained. The second is (I think) the biggest church in our town, and is a well-known landmark.

  6. January 16, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    The second photo looks like it could be right out of a scary movie with the moon partially obscured by the clouds.
    You sure have steady hands!

    • January 17, 2013 at 8:08 am #

      It felt quite eerie too. We were all alone in the dark church garden. The trick to steady hands is to have a small, light camera! 🙂 My hands shake a lot when I’m using our bigger camera.

  7. January 18, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    fantastic! – rita
    http://shapingthepoem.wordpress.com/

    • January 24, 2013 at 6:28 am #

      Thanks Rita! And thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

