My favourite Youtube video ever

A while back I came across an Instagram page I absolutely love.  A guy posting lots of photos of his cat, Millie. But this is no ordinary cat. Millie goes with him on a lot of adventures – including mountain climbing. You have to see it to believe it.

And for a few moments nothing else exists.

A post shared by Craig Armstrong (@pechanga) on

 

Recently they made one of the most stunning videos I have ever seen. Two guys and two cats on an adventure. Not only is it amazing to see how adventurous the cats are and how much trust they have in their humans, but the video production is of a very high quality. The video is titled Buck Canyon Kitty Adventure (click on link to see video) and the description is as follows

Catting primary goals: have fun, keep kitty safe, go kitty pace, take kitty somewhere beautiful and adventurous.

Robber’s Roost is a very remote region in southern Utah. There’s a ton of outlaw history there, google it it’s awesome. It’s a wild desert landscape shaped by wind and water. Deep canyons have been carved into the sandstone floor and they can be incredible to explore.

Slot canyons can be dangerous, do not go alone. You’re often going deeper and deeper into a canyon and don’t know what obstacles you’re coming up against … which is half the fun.

Buck Canyon has a rappel, some down climbing, some technical spots that require kitty hand-offs to your partner, a long hike once you exit the canyon to the desert floor that takes you past two separate amazing arches, and eventually a short overland back to camp once you circle all the way back.

Please check out the video – I want them to make more! 🙂

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Lifestyle/Travel, Nature/Environment, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

9 Comments on “My favourite Youtube video ever”

  1. September 17, 2016 at 9:01 am #

    This is the greatest thing ever. Thank you.

  2. September 17, 2016 at 4:26 pm #

    Amazing! I wouldn’t have guessed that a cat would be willing to hike in canyon country. Thanks for sharing!

    • September 18, 2016 at 10:02 pm #

      Based on my experience with cats (I got my first cat when I was 5 years old), I also would not have imagined that a cat would or could do this. I wonder how they were trained to accept this as “normal”?

  3. Eha
    September 18, 2016 at 6:16 am #

    Wonderful! Am used to pusscats clinging onto sofas and trying to climb curtains . . . but their obvious comfort in such a difficult and strange circumstances is quite amazing! Even if the two-legged species are keeping ‘cat-time’ 🙂 !

    • September 18, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

      Yes, I’m also not used to such adventurous cats. Lucy, my current cat, would be terrified to be in such an open environment.

  4. September 22, 2016 at 8:44 am #

    I’m so amazed at these two cats – it’s extraordinary enough that the two guys found *one* cat that is so adventurous, but *two* who seem quite content and happy to be exploring the world like this – it’s magic! Love it!

    • September 23, 2016 at 7:09 am #

      I would love for them to make a video about how they “trained” their cats to go out of their kitty comfort zones. I had a Siamese cat back when I was in high school who would follow us if we went for a walk around the neighbourhood.

      • September 23, 2016 at 4:49 pm #

        That sounds like a lot of fun, Lisa – what a brave kitty. Hope there weren’t any free-range dogs running about at the time, though…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

