Insanity?

insanity-editI am about to embark on something totally insane. I mean in the “extreme foolishness or irrationality” sense of the word. Some people I know may believe that “the state of being seriously mentally ill” might also apply to me, and maybe it does . . .

So without dragging it out any further, here is my totally insane idea. I am going to publish a blog post every day for the month of October. A post, every day. Just think about it. I’ve recently come back from being MIA for almost a year. During that period I could not cope with blogging regularly, let alone blogging on a daily basis. Now I’m jumping in to the blogging “deep end” and putting on the pressure. Perhaps at the end of the month I’ll definitely be “seriously mentally ill”!

So what have I got planned for October? I’m planning a mix of long story posts, photo posts and shorter “thoughts” or recommendations. Topics will include:

  • Our recent trip to the Kruger National Park
  • An amazing trip we did through Namibia
  • My favourite place on Earth: The Kalahari
  • Some personal stories
  • Reviews and recommendations of movies, television programmes, podcasts and books I’ve enjoyed
  • The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge
  • and anything else I come across which I find interesting, amusing or inspiring

And that’s not all . . . Willie has promised to write a couple of posts about his trips to Gabon and Kenya.

So please join me in this insane venture!

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Insanity?”

  1. Eha
    September 19, 2016 at 7:41 am #

    You have just made my day! An ‘insanely busy’ one workwise, so was SO glad to see this drop in! I’m kind of supposed to be on a spring break then, but no way am I going to miss any of this other than me or my computer going AWOL! I’ll happily join you in your insanity and know you and Willie will give us all much enjoyment. Now your email has gone missing in my book and ‘lisa@notesfromafrica is getting spat out my mail administrator!! Where can I find the correct one ’cause would like to let some friends know and write back to you if I do . . . love . . .

    • September 19, 2016 at 10:25 am #

      Hi Eha! I’m glad that hearing about my insane challenge was good news. We will have to see whether you still feel the same way at the end of October! 😉 Willie is thinking up all sorts of names for it including the “Notes from Africa Audacious Challenge” and the “October Dash”!

      Will email you with my address.

  2. September 19, 2016 at 8:18 am #

    It’s nice to have you back!

    • September 19, 2016 at 10:27 am #

      Hi Debra! Thank you, I’m slowly getting back into the whole blogging thing again – writing and reading.

  3. September 19, 2016 at 10:00 am #

    It is lovely to read your posts again, Lisa. I’ve particularly missed your beautiful nature posts and look forward to hearing all about your travels again in the coming month. Good luck for your ‘insane challenge’!

    • September 19, 2016 at 10:30 am #

      Hi Reggie! 🙂 It’s nice to see the “Reggie bear” popping up in my comments again. Will be explaining my long absence from reading and writing posts in one of my upcoming posts.

  4. September 19, 2016 at 2:25 pm #

    Yay, can’t wait! I feel like your blog might have been the first South African blog I ever read (except my own 😊). Welcome back.

    • September 19, 2016 at 3:24 pm #

      Thanks Heather! You were one of my early readers. Can still remember the blog posts you had just written at the time, and my thoughts about them. How you really “got” South Africa.

  5. September 19, 2016 at 2:49 pm #

    I’ll ride along!

    • September 19, 2016 at 3:25 pm #

      Not sure what I’ve let myself in for, but it looks like I’m committed to it now! 🙂

      • September 22, 2016 at 8:45 am #

        You sure are, Lisa! But don’t worry, as you can see, we’ll be cheering you on all the way! 😀

      • September 23, 2016 at 7:09 am #

        Thanks Reggie – appreciate the support! 🙂

Leave a Reply

