Dream survey – two simple questions for YOU

Several weeks ago, I wrote a post called I am having somebody else’s dreams. I have started on my “dream research” and there are two questions I want to ask you allnot just those who have vivid dreams. It is a very short and simple survey – only two questions. I want to know whether sleepwalking and night terrors as a child are linked to having lots of vivid dreams as an adult.

If you need an explanation of the terms sleepwalking and night terrors click on the links to read the Wikipedia descriptions. What I mean by “vivid dreams” is that you dream a lot, have very detailed dreams and can remember them when you wake up.

If you participate in the survey you have to answer both questions, and you only get to pick one of the options per question. Once you’ve selected your answers scroll down to the “Finish Survey” button at the bottom to submit your answers.

This survey is completely anonymous. However, if you wish to leave any comments please do so on this post.

Please CLICK HERE to answer my dream survey

Thank you for participating!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

28 Comments on “Dream survey – two simple questions for YOU”

  1. Lu
    November 17, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    interesting… I’ve submitted my survey. I wonder what the overall results will be 🙂

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks for taking part! Obviously this isn’t going to be a statistically valid survey, but I’ll “publish” the results.

  2. November 17, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    I haven’t filled out the survey, because I’m not sure whether I should say I have vivid dreams or not. I do have them occasionally, but I don’t most of the time.

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:38 am #

      Gosh, now you’ve brought a whole other aspect to the survey! Somebody who dreams vividly, but not often. Going with your comment on my previous dream post, I’d say answer the survey as somebody who has vivid dreams. From what you described there, your dreams are strange enough to “qualify”! 😉

      Obviously, I didn’t think about this survey carefully enough . . .

      • November 17, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

        Okay, done. I’ll be interested to see the results.

      • November 18, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

        Thanks! I’ll be doing a post with the results.

  3. November 17, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Ditto with Laura. When I do dream, they are vivid.

    • November 17, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      The most important aspects of the “vivid dreams” are how detailed they are, and whether you remember them on first waking.

  4. November 17, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    I will take the survey, as I was a sleep walker as a child. I don’t know that I dream exceptionally vivid dreams now, but I still talk a lot in my sleep and, according to Sara, curse a lot when I’m dreaming. Strange, isn’t it?
    Kathy

    • November 17, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      Your mind is obviously very active at night, but you’re not remembering your dreams. You curse a lot? LOL Do you do that during the day too?

  5. November 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I answered yes to the vivid dreams as an adult and night terrors as a kid, but I usually don’t remember my dreams and I still have night terrors as an adult. Not as many as I did, but still about 3-4 a year. I just had one about 2 weeks ago.

    • November 17, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      Having night terrors still must be scary. I have nightmares sometimes, but extremely rarely night terrors.

      • November 18, 2011 at 2:42 am #

        It does get scary sometimes but some nights, I actually go right back to sleep.

  6. November 17, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    done!

  7. November 17, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    have completed survey – I think I may be your most boring participant because I do not have vivid dreams and I did not have night terrors as a child nor did I sleep walk. I have a 19yo daughter however who has all three and speaks loudly and clearly in her sleep. Only the sleep walking has eventually stopped and although her nightmares are scary she does not wake up in terror. She also has very vivid happy dreams.

    • November 17, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

      Thank you! Actually you’re what I would expect from somebody who doesn’t have vivid dreams. We’ll see what the results are in terms of where you are in the spectrum.

      As your daughter is an adult, she might want to do the survey too. Thank goodness my sleep walking also stopped. It got so bad my parents would have to lock the house and hide the keys at night. Would be very dangerous for your daughter if she was sleeping walking in the bush!

  8. November 17, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I only have vivid dreams occasionally. I would love to know why we only remember oru dreams sometimes. I used to dream that I was yelling at my mother when i was much younger. I could never answer her back when i was awake so i guess I did it while I was asleep.

    • November 18, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      I think only remembering some dreams has got to do with if you wake up during a dream, when it’s still “fresh”. I’ll try and find a more official answer for you though. I think we may have all had that “mother dream” when we were younger! 😉

  9. jacquelincangro
    November 17, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I took the survey. Can’t wait to hear about the results.
    It’s so interesting what the subconscious mind will do when the conscious mind is not in control.

    • November 18, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

      Thanks for completing the survey! I wish my subconscious mind would just SLEEP! 🙂

  10. November 19, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    You know I don`t recall night terrors for me but my kids have had them at younger ages. Very scary.

  11. November 24, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    Good luck mapping out the Dreamscape!

  12. November 24, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I dream. Almost every night. But it’s not vivid, actually. It’s very sophisticated and I often want to dream that.

    Guess what?

    • November 24, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Wish I could program my mind to dream what I want to dream about. My dreams are just totally weird, and usually are not related to my real life at all.

      What I mean by “vivid” is that they are very detailed.

      Did you complete my dream survey??? 🙂

      • November 24, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

        Yes, I did.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Befriending Mr. Sandman | The Unwitting Traveller - December 12, 2011

    […] my mind is often wandering free I invite you to head on over to Notes from Africa and take part in Lisa’s Dream Survey GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

Leave a comment