Follow me

So I have finally created a Facebook page for Notes from Africa. I’m not really a “Facebook person” in my private life. I am not that interesting that I want to keep posting updates of my daily life. And I’m rather private and reclusive when it comes to sharing information about the “real me” on the Internet.  However, reaching the milestone of 300 posts on this blog, I realised that there was a lot of material and photographs which needed some promotion. Posts which newer visitors to my blog may have missed. Also for some of you, Facebook may be your preferred social media site.

From now on, every time I publish a new post, the link will be shared on the Notes from Africa Facebook page. By “liking” the page you will effectively subscribe to the feed. Or you could just “like” the page to make me feel popular! 😉

To get there click here Notes from Africa Facebook Page or use the subscription buttons at the bottom of each post, or in the sidebar.

Leopard near Grootkolk in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. The full story about this beautiful cat is in the post The Camp Cat.  ©Heyns Kotze

Tags: ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

13 Comments on “Follow me”

  1. Eha
    November 5, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    OK: I was with facebook and grew from ‘2’ > ‘750’ in less than one year’s time. Don’t quite know how!! I prefer > to onesome: when Im ready and have the interest and I can spare the time! Much better chance of friendships which really count 🙂 !

    • November 5, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      I agree! I’ve never understood how people with hundreds of Facebook friends can possibly keep up with reading what everybody posts. But there are some people who do use Faceboo. So this is just another way they can follow the blog, if they don’t want to be emailed updates.

  2. GeoRoMancer
    November 5, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Welcome to the Dark Side … what was that slogan again?

    “One site to rule all their data, one site to mine them
    One site to sell them all and in the darkness bind them!”

    Hmmmm, you’ve got such a beautiful blog. Why spoil this lovely relationship?

    • November 5, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      The Facebook page won’t replace the blog. It’s just another way for people to “subscribe” to the blog.

  3. Lu
    November 5, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    I had a quick look over at your facebook page, and I have to say I like the layout (timeline) that it offers.
    Did you only just share those posts via facebook, or were they publicised there when you originally posted them? I’m all curious now.
    I also don’t really “do” facebook, I’m on it, but rarely post anything there. I’m not sure I want to, so the idea of setting up a page for the blog(s) sounds a far better idea.

    • November 5, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Lu, the timeline updates happen automatically if you have set up your post to publicize the post to your Twitter or Facebook page.If you’re editing a new post, then look below the “Save Draft” button at “Publicize”. The “Settings” option with that allows you to set up the link between WordPress and Twitter and/or a Facebook page.

      I haven’t yet set up anything beyond that, but I will be loading some photos with links to specific posts. I just see it as another way for people to follow my blog (if they are on Facebook a lot) and to publicize my blog.

      • Lu
        November 5, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

        I hear you – and with perhaps more people than not using Facebook as their preferred modus operandi, it all makes a lot of sense!
        You can of course just “share this” from your own post to your own fb page – although I guess it won’t reflect the original publishing date. I’ve been figuring things out on fb this afternoon, since I last commented… watch this space 😉

  4. November 5, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    I willl check out your FB page, for sure, Lisa. I’m trying to pay more attention to FB than I have in the past. It is a good way to keep in touch with folks when you have lots of friends who live all over the world.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • November 6, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks Kathy! I find FB and Twitter a little overwhelming at times, but as you say it’s a great tool to keep in touch with friends and family.

  5. November 6, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    Yeah, I know what you mean. My main reason for being on FaceBook is to stay in touch with my daughter and her family. I will, however, go there and follow you right now. This is a wonderful blog, and more people need to know about it 🙂

    • November 6, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      Thanks for your kind comments, Danice! 🙂 Facebook is a great way to keep in touch with your family.

  6. February 5, 2013 at 2:20 am #

    Oh that’s great. I’m a Facebook person. Will check/like your page now to follow your blogposts. I’m Lifeisacelebration on FB.

    • February 5, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

      I don’t use Facebook a lot, but it is a handy way for people to follow a blog – especially if they’re not bloggers themselves.

Leave a comment