Notes from the dark side

It has again been weeks since I last posted – and a year of very erratic posting on this blog. I just wanted to check in with regular readers and let you all know I’m still here.

This year has been a very tough one for me health-wise, so it has been really difficult to keep up with regular postings. My blog has always been my “happy place”, somewhere I share the things that interest, amuse and inspire me.  A place which I don’t want to populate with negative thoughts or negative energy. I have a lot of topics on my list which I still want to share with you all, but am struggling to find the energy and ability to do them justice. So I’d rather take my time instead of publishing posts which I’m not happy with.

So what am I working on?

I’m currently editing photographs which a friend shared with me after his recent vacation on the Cape West Coast and in the Karoo. He’s taken lots of wonderful photos, and it has been very difficult choosing my favourites to feature on my blog.

Then during this year I have also read several books which I especially enjoyed and want to share my thoughts about.

This year we didn’t manage to make our usual pilgrimage to the Kalahari. I thought I’d be fine skipping a year (and I didn’t feel well enough to go on a long road trip anyway). But when September came, my thoughts often turned to our last Kalahari trip. There are several posts that I never got around to writing for the Kalahari 2012 series, which I still want to publish.

In the meanwhile I’ll leave you with two of Karl-Heinz’s photographs. Looking at these makes me happy!

A carpet of flowers ©Karl-Heinz Niemand

Namaqualand flowers close-up ©Karl-Heinz Niemand

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

23 Comments on “Notes from the dark side”

  1. October 9, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Always happy to see you when you are here. I hate that you’re not feeling good though. Hang in there. What vivid colors on the pics!

    • October 10, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      Thanks Emily! The colours really are that vivid. I’ll be posting some more photos soon.

  2. October 9, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    Hi, Lisa — I’m sorry you’re having a difficult year, but I’m glad you’re back and look forward to reading the posts you’ve been working on.

    • October 10, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      Thank you, Laura! I’m surprised I still have readers left after neglecting my blog so much.

  3. October 9, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    I’m very sorry you’ve been feeling bad, Lisa. I miss your regular posts but I’m always happy to see a new one. Thinking of you.

  4. October 9, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    Hi Lisa, I am so sorry to hear that you haven’t been well this year. It is always lovely to read your blog, and I wait in eager anticipation to read about all those posts you have been mulling over in your head! May you have all the energy and vibrant health to complete them soon – and to have some wonderful new adventures before the end of the year. 🙂

    • October 10, 2012 at 7:56 am #

      Thanks Reggie, I hope to be posting more regularly in the future. Even if it’s just once or twice a week. I’m starting to “compose” posts again in my head, while I’m walking with the dog. This is always a good sign that I’m getting more inspired.

      • Reggie
        October 10, 2012 at 8:14 am #

        That is happy news indeed – I hope there will be no hot sweltering humid days to exacerbate your headaches in the coming months. Happy post-composing! 🙂

  5. Madoqua
    October 9, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Good to see you back, hope things get better and better from now on.
    Love your photos of the Namaqualand daisies – something I long to see.

    • October 10, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      Thanks for your good wishes! I haven’t been to see the Spring flowers in a long time myself. Luckily, this year a friend went there and caught them at there best. He’s taken some gorgeous photos, which he’s kindly shared with me.

  6. October 9, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    Good to read your post. I’m sorry for your health issues and it’s inspiring to see you continuing to express the good things in your life. I’ve also been away from my blogging, but not for health reasons. I’m in the process of getting back to it and plan to post soon.

    • October 10, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      Thanks for your good wishes! It’s difficult to get inspired and be creative when you’re very busy. I find I have to be just in the right mood. Obviously, I’d never make it as a novelist!;-)

  7. October 9, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    I’m so sorry your year has been tough, Lisa. I miss your posts, but I also understand not wanting to share material until it’s edited and ready for prime time. I would feel the same way. Can’t wait to hear what’s next. You and Willie are in my heart and in my mind, Lisa. Hang in there. I’ll be here when you’re feeling better.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • October 10, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      Thanks for being such a faithful reader and commenter on my blog, Kathy! I really appreciate the support.

  8. October 10, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    Thanks for letting us know you are ok, I know you are having a difficult time but let`s hope it`ll improve soon!!! lots of love your way!!

    • October 10, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      Hi Ellen! Thanks for the good wishes – it’s much appreciated. Especially as I know you’ve not been having such a great year either.

  9. October 10, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    I’m glad to hear from you, even if it is just a short post. Looking forward to seeing those photos from the Cape West Coast and reading about the books you enjoyed this year. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    • October 10, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks for the good wishes, Jackie! Karl-Heinz’s photos are worth waiting for. I’ll be writing “thoughts on books” rather than “real” book reviews. Since I’m not a “language professional”, I’m always a bit intimidated to pass comment on a published author’s work!

  10. October 10, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    Sorry to hear about your difficulties but glad to see you made a post. Wishing you happy thoughts.

  11. Lu
    October 15, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    It will be wonderful to see you posting again more regularly, but as they say – good things are most definitely worth the wait 🙂
    Wishing you much happiness and better health. Those bright orange Namaqua daisies certainly cheer me up!

Leave a comment