Houston, we have a problem

Message to my readers and fellow bloggers:

My computer died on Monday night. Just shut down and refused to wake up again. My best efforts (embarrassingly not great!) together with a phone consultation with an IT friend (who does know what she’s doing), did nothing to revive it. So it was delivered to a “professional” yesterday, who has yet to figure out what the problem is. The feedback I got was: “It might take a while . . . don’t call us, we’ll call you.”

So in the meanwhile I’ll be using Willie’s Notebook (when he’s at home and not away on business), which means that posting may be erratic.  Although I can use my amazing smartphone to read your blogs, leaving long comments is difficult.

If you do want to keep up with what I’m finding interesting or amusing, check out my Twitter feed on the right.

Willie is hoping that my computer-less state will mean I’ll soon be wearing this t-shirt:

Tags:

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

22 Comments on “Houston, we have a problem”

  1. April 13, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    I really hope your computer isn’t as bad off as the one in the picture 😉 I don’t like the feedback you got 😦 so here’s hoping they will sort out the problem today!

    Love that T! Did Willie buy you one like that, or is he hoping YOU will buy it and wear it with pride?

    Thanks for starting my day with a smile 🙂

    • April 13, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      Some computer techs are just no good at dealing with clients . . . unlike you, of course! 😉

      I have done a deal with the “devil” . . . so am going to be wearing the t-shirt figuratively, if not literally!

  2. Sarita Botha
    April 13, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    So sad about your computer. Hope it won’t take too long. Re: the T, I’m sure you can think of something else to do! I’ll help you think of much nicer things to do than clean house. Hehehe

  3. April 13, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    Love the T shirt 🙂
    I hope your computer is restored and restored to you soonest.

    • April 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

      I think it must have been a guy who designed the t-shirt. Note that it’s a woman sitting at the computer!

  4. April 13, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    I am sorry to hear about the computer…I hope it gets repaired quickly and correctly. I do enjoy reading your posts, and look forward to your technological return!

    • April 13, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

      Thanks for the support! I’m technologically back, hopefully not just temporarily.

  5. April 13, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Lisa, you´ll have your computer soon. I´m sure they say it takes longer than it is just to avoid problems. Computers are not a secret. They have parts. If it is a hardware problem, they see it inmediately. If it is a software problem, they can fix it in a day.

    I´ll be out for two weeks starting Saturday so I hope I can read your posts when I´m back home in May!!

    • April 13, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

      Yes, I know this logically, but emotionally I still get stressed out when some bit of technology dies on me. I always imagine the worst-case scenario, especially one which I cannot afford to fix. Or one which involves me losing precious data which I haven’t got around to backing up yet.

  6. jacquelincangro
    April 13, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Oh, no! That can be so frustrating. You don’t realize how dependent you are on your computer until you don’t have it for a while. Here’s hoping it gets fixed soon.

    • April 13, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

      Yes, in just 2 days I’ve discovered just how much of my life is conducted via email and the Internet. Not that I’m at my desk every day, but the thought of not having a computer close-by is scary!

  7. April 13, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Hope it gets fixed sooner than you expect! This is why I love being married to a techno-geek. Even while we were dating, he’d come fix things at my office for me, since I worked nights and the company tech guys worked days.

  8. April 13, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    ~Great T-shirt! How true…but I hope you are doing better things than cleaning house. YUKKKKK>

  9. April 14, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    I go nuts when my computer breaks. Now I have 3. It’s a bit of an over kill, but it’s my safety net 🙂

    • April 14, 2011 at 7:28 am #

      So nice to find somebody who understands my situation! 🙂 Even if I don’t normally sit at my desk all day, I feel very isolated when I don’t have a computer.

  10. April 14, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    What a hoot that t-shirt is, Lisa! Sorry your computer is down. We will patiently wait your return–but miss you, nonetheless!

    • April 14, 2011 at 7:31 am #

      I found the t-shirt photo when I was looking for a “broken computer” graphic. When I showed it to Willie his response was “that’s just wishful thinking!”. On his part – since he’s the “neat freak” and I’m well . . . not! 😉

      Will be back soon. Just wanted bloggers I follow to know why I’m not commenting on their posts.

  11. April 14, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Hope they get it fixed quickly! At least you have some alternatives. I had a laptop die permanently a couple of months ago – and it took all my old photos and videos with it. Lesson? Back everything up.

    Blogging is way more fun than cleaning house….but, that’s a cute shirt!

    • April 14, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      About backups: so true! And I didn’t have backups of the most recent stuff I’d been working on.

      The only plus about cleaning house, is that I can listen to podcasts while I’m doing it!

Leave a comment