Mozambique 2011: Why I didn’t go along

This post is part of the Mozambique 2011 series. The previous post in this series is This is how it starts . . .

This past week our house has been a hive of activity as preparations were made for Mozambique 2011. If you missed what this is all about you can read the background to it here. As predicted the piles of equipment etc grew alarmingly as all the stuff needed for the fishing expedition were gathered. Food was bought and repackaged. Even bait (used, I’m told, to lure specific fish species) was sourced from all over South Africa! My role in all this was mainly to see that the clothing side of things was taken care of i.e. I did a lot of laundry. Although I have to say with the advent of more “technical clothing” in Willie’s wardrobe this has become a lot easier. Estie, Willie’s twin sister, dispatched a whole lot of “reel bags” (bags to protect fishing reels)  which she had kindly sewn for him. Since I’m not good at sewing, I was grateful for her input!

So after seeing those photographs of beautiful tropical beaches, azure skies and aquamarine seas that I included in the first post, you’re might be asking why I did not going along. The answer is that I could have if I’d wanted to, but for various reasons even the beauty of the Mozambique coast wasn’t that appealing. I’ve struggled health-wise through a long hot and humid summer. Since most of my migraines are triggered by heat and humidity, the thought of subjecting myself to a tropical climate i.e. a hot and humid one, really didn’t fill me with a spirit of adventure. Then this is a fishing expedition. To understand this concept fully, one has to have a partner who is an avid fisherman or woman. These guys (and occasionally girls) spend all their waking hours during a trip fishing or indulging in fishing related activities. It’s okay if you’re into fishing too, but doesn’t make for a relaxed, romantic getaway if you’re not. In fact, from previous experience, the non-fishing partner is left pretty much to entertain themselves. Which, if you’re in a very remote location with little general sightseeing opportunities, is not that interesting. With my aversion to the sun, it doesn’t leave a lot to do. Finally, my idea of a fun tropical holiday is not the same as Willie’s. His involves tents pitched on the beach. Again, this might sound like fun, unless you know about the sand fleas and who knows what other creepy crawlies you’ll have to share your tent with. Mine is more of a “wooden huts on stilts above the water” kind of thing. See the photos below.

Willie's idea of a fun tropical vacation (©2005 K. Venter)

My idea of a fun tropical vacation. Note: accommodation is OFF the ground away from sand fleas and tropical spiders and snakes!

This year two ladies have gone along – the wife and sister of one of the guys. “The Wife” (not sure if she wants to be mentioned by name), because she likes being outdoors and is a relatively recent newlywed. “The Sister” because she’s up for an adventure, and has I presume been convinced by “The Wife” that this is a good idea. The rest of the longer married ladies normally opt to stay home, and have some quiet time to do what they normally never get time to do. This time around an old (in terms of years of acquaintance, not age) friend of mine is coming to stay with me. Which I’m very excited about, because we’ll be able to spend some quality “girl time” together.

So yesterday morning everybody got together at our house, to do the final loading of the vehicles before heading off. While the guys were rearranging the vehicles, and loading up the kayaks, I got an opportunity to speak to the two women going along. It seems they’ve done their homework – looked at photos of previous fishing expeditions, listened to the stories about the trips, even checked out the “lay of the land” on Google Earth. They’ve thought of various possible “problems” and made sure to take along plenty of entertainment. They should be fine . . .

The Mozambique 2011 Series:

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Lifestyle/Travel, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

20 Comments on “Mozambique 2011: Why I didn’t go along”

  1. GeoRoMancer
    April 22, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Hmm, think I would also prefer the idyllic “hut on stilts” option. Ooops, does that make me less of a tough guy? Don’t tell anyone …

    • April 22, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

      Yes, it doesn’t do your “tough guy” ratings any good! But as far as I’m concerned it raises your “smart guy” ones.

  2. Lu
    April 22, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    I’m quite impressed with the two ladies that are travelling along… It does remain to be seen how they feel about such “adventures” on their return! Not least for the road trip…. Cape Town to Johannesburg is already far too long as a road trip and they have to go sooooo much further..presumably with vehicles packed to the gunnels! I think you have opted for the best alternative.. enjoy your girl time!

    • April 22, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

      Yes, it is a very long journey there. Might be fun on the way there – part of the adventure – but less fun coming home. Will be “interviewing” the two ladies on their return, to get their version of the adventure.

  3. April 22, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Having been on TOO many of these to count, I’m also extremely picky about the fishy expeditions in which I choose to partake. Have a wonderful time doing whatever you want to with your friend!

    • April 22, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      It always amazes me what lengths guys will go to, to catch fish. Maybe they’re hoping that we will opt to stay at home?! 😉

  4. Lu
    April 22, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    P.S. I also prefer your idea of what accommodation should be like.. 🙂

    • April 22, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Glad to hear it! Considering your normal working and living conditions, I’d hope you would choose something more luxurious for your vacations. Although for me it’s not about luxury . . . it’s just not sleeping on the ground.

    • April 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Ditto! Totally with you too, Lisa!

      Sandfleas sound like an awful addition to the terrifying triplet of spiders, snakes, scorpions!

      • April 27, 2011 at 11:05 am #

        I’m glad that I’m finding so many people who agree with me about this! 🙂

        The group has been in Mozambique since Saturday, and apparently all is going well. The two ladies are coping with the tents on the beach. At least that is what Willie says! I’ll have to ask them for their input when they return.

  5. April 22, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Can’t say that I’m much for sleeping on the beach either, not by choice anyway.

    Sounds like the women are prepared and everyone (at home and away) will have a fun time 🙂

    • April 22, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Yes, I think everybody is happy with the choices they’ve made! 😉 Obviously, I’m going to miss Willie, but I don’t begrudge him his fishing trips.

  6. April 22, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    My idea of a nice vacation is closer to the 2nd picture you posted as well. Sand fleas? Notsomuch. Although, men don’t seem to be as bothered by such things.

    How much longer before the weather starts cooling off again?

    • April 23, 2011 at 8:30 am #

      The weather here is getting cooler now. At least the nights. The daytime temperatures still get up to 30C (86F). Last week we had some cooler days in the low to mid 20C’s (70F – 77F) which were lovely – my kind of weather!

  7. April 22, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    ~~I think I’d go once on the tent adventure (just for the experience) … and then opt to stay home for quiet reading, writing, and reflection. 🙂 xx

    • April 23, 2011 at 8:34 am #

      I think if you like being at the beach – for sunbathing or water sports – then camping wouldn’t be an issue. But there are more comfortable places to read and write. 🙂

  8. April 22, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    D-Man is very much into fishing. Then he gets angry because I do things like dip my feet in the water, drink wine and sing, and use my book to fan myself instead of reading it because it gets so hot. I don’t mind the camping so much, unless sand fleas are involved, in which case, it is a big, fat NO.

    I love your idea of a tropical vacation. *sigh*

    • April 23, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      So you know all about tagging along on a fishing trip then?! 😉 Where does D-Man do his fishing – at the sea?

  9. jacquelincangro
    April 23, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    I’m with you, Lisa! The huts on stilts over the beautiful clear water is right up my alley. I can’t wait to hear how The Wife and The Sister fare on the trip.

    How great that you and Willie can both spend time apart doing your own thing, and then enjoy filling each other in when he comes home.

    • April 24, 2011 at 7:43 am #

      Yes, I’m also curious to hear how the ladies experienced the trip! I really think they will do fine and even enjoy it. Not sure if “The Sister” will do it again since she’s more of a city person.

      Re: Willie and I each doing our own thing. It works for us. I really believe you have to be happy as individuals, before you can be happy as a couple.

Leave a comment