Lean on Me

Our dog Rosie is a “leaner”. Especially in the evenings when she’s tired and wants some human closeness and comfort. To read more about Rosie see The Jet-set Puppy series ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Seeing the photograph, made me think of the iconic song Lean on Me by Bill Withers. It reached  number one on both the soul singles and the Billboard Hot 100, and is ranked number 205 on Rolling Stone‘s list of “The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time“. It has been performed and recorded by a wide variety of artists from different music genres.

My favourite is the original Bill Withers version which was released in 1972. Here is a live recording from a 1973 concert . . .

Do you have a favourite recording of this song?

To read more about Rosie see The Jet-set Puppy series

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Lean on Me”

  1. September 13, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    Rosie is such a character, Lisa.

    And that is a wonderful recording – I’ve never seen Bill Withers performing his own song, isn’t that odd? Like you said, so many artists have covered it, so I guess that is why!

    • September 14, 2012 at 7:14 am #

      You’re not the only one! I also hadn’t heard the Bill Withers version of the song until I researched the origins.

  2. September 13, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    Awwww. My cat Holly is a leaner.

    • September 14, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      Animals are sweet. Always interesting to me how they not only look to us for the physical needs, but also for their emotional ones.

  3. September 13, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Love that song.

  4. Madoqua
    September 13, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    That pooch looks so sad 😦

    • September 14, 2012 at 7:28 am #

      This is Rosie’s “in a trance” expression. 🙂 She was tired and Willie was rubbing her chest.

  5. September 13, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Sweet, sweet Rosie. Please give her a nice belly rub from me and Reggie. 🙂

  6. September 14, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    I love leaning dogs!

  7. September 16, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    beautiful

  8. October 8, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    I’ve seen your name at several blogs I follow so thought I’d pop in and say hello. I’m honored to share my name with your beautiful pooch.

    • October 9, 2012 at 6:45 am #

      Hi Rosie! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a lovely comment. 🙂 Rosie (or Rosalie in full) came to us with that name. After meeting her we decided not to change it. It really suits her personality – she’s an energetic, happy, smart and very loving dog. And she has a sense of humour.

Leave a comment