Nature also has a sense of humour

Yesterday I wrote about My favourite April 1 stories. Now here is my favourite April 1 photo. This is the original photo i.e. no retouching or tweaking of any kind. The photograph was taken at sunset on April 1, 2011.

UFO in the Southern Cape - April 1, 2011 (©2011 WMB)

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

33 Comments on “Nature also has a sense of humour”

  1. mizukun
    April 6, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    Light can do that to a camera. Was that a cloud??

    Ja ne

    • April 6, 2011 at 7:58 am #

      Yes, it was a very odd-shaped cloud. Never seen anything like it before.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comment! 🙂

  2. April 6, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    Oooh! A UFO! Beam me up! Beam me up!

    I’m kidding. 😉

    I’ve never seen a cloud like that either – well-spotted, Lisa.

    • April 6, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      So you’d actually like to make contact with aliens then?! 😉

      Willie saw it and took the photo. But then called me outside to look at it too.

      • April 7, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

        Well… um… er… 😉

        In that case, well-spotted, Willie!

  3. Sarita Botha
    April 6, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    Very nice photo!

    • April 6, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      Thank you on Willie’s behalf! He’ll be reading all the comments . . .

  4. April 6, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Hey, that’s really cool! The angle makes it seem very realistic 🙂

    • April 6, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

      Don’t think you would have got that pink halo effect around the cloud if it had been completely horizontal.

  5. April 6, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Such lovely contrasts; I have to say I have always wanted to see a UFO close up and personal.
    Enjoy your day,
    Kate

    • April 6, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      I think I’ll “make do” with a cloud that looks like a UFO. 🙂

      Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment!

  6. April 6, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Wow, beautiful pic.

    • April 6, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      Thank you! Willie took this one. He was very keen for me to use his “UFO” photo, albeit a couple of days late.

  7. April 6, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    I would of run away screaming

    • April 6, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

      I might have run if it had flashing lights! 🙂 Just think how cool this would have looked over a desert landscape.

  8. April 6, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    I think 1 April is the day I avoid the internet the most, lol. Unfortunately, being 13-16 hours ahead of most of my friends who are stateside means that I kind of have to avoid seeing facebook posts for nearly two days.

    That is a cool picture and I can see someone mistaking it for a UFO. How did the photoshopped version look?

    By the way, I decided to end my website woes by purchasing a new theme. Hope you like it!

    • April 6, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

      As you might have gathered I carry on looking for April 1 jokes well after the actual day has passed (in every time zone)!

      I haven’t tried to photoshop the photo yet.

  9. April 6, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Hehe – how cool is that!

  10. April 6, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    That is one bizarre cloud, Lisa! Good for Willy! It looks totally UFO and other worldly. Thanks, Willie!
    Kathy

  11. April 6, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    “Close Encounters of the Third Kind???” Lovely.

  12. Estie
    April 6, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Great picture!

  13. April 6, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    cool!

    • April 7, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      Yeah, cool! As I said to Clay above, imagine (since it’s highly unlikely) seeing that in a desert landscape or above one of those salt pans you visited?

  14. April 6, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    I am so glad I checked your site and congratulations on Versatile Blogger!
    Chris

    • April 7, 2011 at 8:14 am #

      Thanks, as I said to Amblerangel I see myself more as an “unfocused” blogger – but “versatile” sounds so much better!

      Thanks for visiting my blog! 🙂

  15. April 6, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    What a great photo!

  16. April 7, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    Did you get to meet the aliens?

    • April 7, 2011 at 8:12 am #

      Unfortunately, or fortunately depending on how you feel about aliens, they didn’t think we looked interesting enough to come down for a visit! 😉

      Thanks for visiting my blog and for leaving a comment!

Leave a comment