The Lewis Trilogy – my favourite reads this year

This year I have read a number of books I really enjoyed, but my favourite reads were definitely the three books making up The Lewis Trilogy. Written by Peter May, they are in order, The Blackhouse, The Lewis Man and The Chessmen.

My preferred type of crime fiction are books that read more like “regular” novels than your standard crime fiction. They’re about place and time and culture. Instead of featuring crazed psychopaths who are being hunted by some brilliant detective/criminal psychologist, they feature ordinary people who commit sad, ordinary crimes. For me reading how they got to that point, and how the victim and criminal’s paths crossed, is a more interesting kind of crime novel, than a “police procedural”. These are the type of crime novels which the Nordic writers excel in. With The Lewis Trilogy, I feel that Peter May has created the same kind of crime fiction, where the crimes are just the background to a much more complex story.

I had read two of Peter May’s previous crime novels – one from the The Enzo Files series and one from The China Thrillers series – and had not enjoyed them that much. I know that Peter May lives in France, and that he visited China, but in writing books set in these two countries, he still comes across as an outsider. Then I decided to start reading The Lewis Trilogy. From the first book – The Blackhouse – I was enchanted. These are, in my opinion, Peter May’s best works to date. They are beautifully written, describing the Isle of Lewis (Outer Hebrides, Scotland) on which the stories are set so vividly that I ended up with a map next to me, and looked for photos of the scenery on-line. [Although the web photos were beautiful, a lot of them were taken on calm, bright, sunny days. Not the windy, stormy ones of the books!].

The Lewis Trilogy does a wonderful job of telling the life stories of three generations of islanders, with the middle generation providing most of the central characters. It tells of the harshness of island life – as it used to be and what it is today. The landscape, weather and sea are so prominently featured in the books, that they become “characters” too. It is obvious that the author knows the people and setting he is writing about intimately.

Award-winning Glasgow-born author Peter May is no stranger to the Isle of Lewis, and it shows in every thrilling chapter of this bleak, wild, atmospheric novel. During 20 years in television he spent a good deal of time on the island, filming the hit series Machair. Not only does this knowledge of the place and its people reveal itself in the characters, who seem to blend so effortlessly into the harsh land they inhabit, but May’s background in screenwriting comes to the fore in the dialogue he writes, through which he manages to steer so much of the narrative.

From: The Scotsman

I have noticed a number of authors recently writing trilogies or quartets i.e. three or four books about the same place and featuring the same characters.  I think it is a nice format. You do not end up with over-long and confusing novels, and yet there is the time for the author to develop his characters fully. Although it is obviously best to read them in order, the three books from The Lewis Trilogy also work as individual stories. I read one comment by a fan who said they would like to read more in the same series. For me, the strength of the novels is that there is a finite number. I do not know how much serious and violent crime there is in the Outer Hebrides, but there is a risk of the story-lines becoming implausible, just to provide another mystery to be solved.

I would recommend these books to anyone who enjoys very descriptive novels – even those who do not usually read crime fiction. I would not though, recommend the trilogy to people who enjoy action-packed novels!

The BlackhouseThe Blackhouse

Fin Macleod, a Glasgow cop, returns to his birthplace in Lewis after 17 years to investigate a gruesome murder. He was the only boy in his class to leave the island to go to university, but as the story unfolds, told partly by Fin as a boy, so do intimations of dark family secrets, brutality and betrayal. What, for instance, really happened 17 years earlier, during the summer of Fin’s departure, at the An Sgeir, the ancient and extremely perilous gannet-culling ritual re-enacted every year (this is fact) by 12 Lewis men on a barren 400ft basalt stack in the Atlantic?

From: The Guardian UK

The Scotsman has a full review of The Blackhouse here.

The Lewis Man

It is a crime novel in that the discovery of a body in a peat bog sets the narrative going, but like all the best crime fiction The Lewis Manits interest is not restricted to the investigation.

It’s about the weight of the past, failed relationships, lives gone wrong and the ill-treatment of children. It may also be called a hymn in praise of the beauties of the islands and the miseries of their weather. There is a great deal of description of landscape and the elements, too much perhaps for some tastes, but you can always skim these paragraphs.

The body is first thought to be a couple of thousands years old, because peat preserves bodies from decay. It is only when a tattoo on an arm is discovered that the police realise they have a murder investigation on their hands, for the tattoo features Elvis Presley and his song Heartbreak Hotel, a hit from 1956. DNA will link the corpse to an old man, Tormod Macdonald, but Tormod, now suffering from dementia, is believed to have been an only child with no known relatives . . . continue reading

From: The Scotsman

The Chessmen

The ChessmenFin Macleod, now head of security on a privately owned Lewis estate, is charged with investigating a spate of illegal game-hunting taking place on the island. This mission reunites him with Whistler Macaskill – a local poacher, Fin’s teenage intimate, and possessor of a long-buried secret. But when this reunion takes a violent, sinister turn and Fin puts together the fractured pieces of the past, he realizes that revealing the truth could destroy the future . . .

Summary from: Quercus Books UK

Raven Crime Reads has a review here.

What has been your favourite book this year?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Books/Book Reviews

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

24 Comments on “The Lewis Trilogy – my favourite reads this year”

  1. Estie
    December 11, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    I have to add that that the blog is very well written and you can really explain well why we prefer the Nordic authors. Next time somebody asks me I will refer them to this blog!

    • December 11, 2012 at 11:47 am #

      Ha Ha – thanks Estie! I’m (hopefully) going to be doing a book post every week this month. You’ll definitely recognize the titles, since we have read a lot of the same books this year.

  2. Eha
    December 11, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    Well, this trilogy is totally new to me, and being an avid reader I wonder how I have missed it since some of the reviews go back to last year. Too much work and study followed by relaxation in fron of the box, I guess! I very much like crime fiction, tho’ oft the forensic kind because of my background! What you have written very much appeals tho’ and I have bookmarked to ‘visit’ some of our stores tomorrow or see whether Amazon can supply! Thanks a lot!

    • December 11, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

      I only found out about this trilogy recently. So the first two had already been published and the third was about to be! At least I didn’t have to wait in-between “instalments”! You could try and get the first two at your local library.

  3. December 11, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Fantastic! I also didn’t know about this trilogy. I only read the Millennium trilogy from Stieg Larsson this year which had me turning the pages in the early morning hours….one of my favourites of the year!

    • December 11, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      These are a little different from Stieg Larsson’s books. More in the style of Henning Mankell (who wrote the Wallander series – you may have seen the BBC adaptations?).

      • December 12, 2012 at 6:32 am #

        I downloaded the first book on kindle…will let you know what I thought!

  4. December 11, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Thank you SO much for recommending these, Lisa! I’m always looking for new stuff to read, and I enjoy crime fiction. I had never heard of Lewis, I’m afraid. SIlly me. Hope your week is going well. Sorry I’m so behind on my blog reading–trying to get back in gear.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • December 11, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      That’s why I like to read books like this – you get to explore some small corner of the world you’ve never given much thought to.

      No worries, Kathy. You know how erratic my blog posting/reading gets at times. Hope you and Sara are doing well.

  5. December 12, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    Glad you enjoyed these Lisa and thanks very much for linking my review. Very kind of you 🙂

    • December 12, 2012 at 7:09 am #

      You’re welcome, although I should be thanking you! Your review was very close to what I thought of the book, so you saved me from having to write a proper review.

  6. December 14, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Thanks for the recommendation. Have reserved the first one at the library.

    • December 14, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      You’re welcome – I hope you enjoy it. Would like to hear what you think when you’re finished.

  7. January 14, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    An excellent review, Lisa. I haven’t read these books yet, but they sound most compelling.

    • January 15, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

      I don’t know whether you like crime novels or not (?), but these could really classed as regular novels too. They’re just beautifully descriptive.

  8. January 29, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    Thanks for this, I had never heard of Peter May. I have had several glorious holidays on Lewis and visited the Black House Museum there: I cannot wait to get reading now:)

    • January 29, 2013 at 7:45 am #

      If you’ve been there, then you’ll love the descriptions of the islands. I listened to the audiobook versions of the first two in the series, and it was lovely to be read to. Like being told a bedtime story.

      • January 30, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

        That’s a good idea: I also love being read to, it is so relaxing and comforting. I will look out for an audio book. Do you have any particular recommendations, because the reader makes all the difference.

      • January 30, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

        The audiobook versions I listened to were downloads from http://www.audible.com (there’s also a http://www.audible.co.uk). “The Blackhouse” was narrated by Steve Worsley and “The Lewis Man” was narrated by Peter Forbes. They were both good. What’s nice about Audible is that you can listen to samples first, so you can decide if you’ll enjoy the narrator. Would advise to get the longer, unabridged versions.

      • Steve Worsley
        May 2, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

        I’m glad you enjoyed my reading. Thank you. 🙂

      • May 4, 2013 at 8:15 am #

        Hello Steve! Your readings really bring the books to life. I’ve also listened to your readings of Stuart MacBride’s novels. You’ve got a great voice – hope you do more!

      • steve worsley
        May 4, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

        Thank you Lisa. I’ve been asked to continue the MacBride books. I have another one too. A comedy about zombie cows called Apocalypse Cow by Michael Logan 😊

  9. January 30, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    Thanks, that’s brilliant! I had no idea there was a website where one could listen to sample first, it makes all the difference. I really appreciate the tip@)

  10. January 30, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    Sorry pressed wrong key, I was trying to add a smiley:)

Leave a comment