Weekly Photo Challenge: Local

In a lot of small towns in South Africa, the landscape is dominated by the local church or churches. George is no longer a small town, but this church at the top of the main road, is still a dominant landmark. Even at night.

 

img_3003-edit-lb

This post is part of the Daily Post | Weekly Photo Challenges | Local

It is also part of my daily posts for October 2016 – otherwise known as The October Dash

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Local”

  1. October 16, 2016 at 10:09 am #

    That’s a beautiful night-time photo, Lisa. Love the moon peeking out through the clouds behind the steeple.

    • October 16, 2016 at 10:29 am #

      Thanks Reggie! Was struggling to find a photo which meant “local” to me since most of our photography is done in the countryside.

  2. October 16, 2016 at 4:57 pm #

    Love the moody moon behind. Would make a good Halloween capture!!

  3. October 16, 2016 at 5:51 pm #

    The church in contrast with the dark and broody sky is amazing (fellow African)!

  4. Eha
    October 17, 2016 at 1:47 am #

    What a lovely classic building beautifully portrayed. Dutch Reformed? I am ‘spiritual’ rather than ‘religious’ and have slowly moved from a too-cold-for-me Lutheranism to soft Buddhist thoughts which suit much better . . . . talked to Mr Google as usual and he informed there actually are a lot of Lutherans in S Africa . . .

    • October 17, 2016 at 8:24 am #

      Thank you, Eha! 🙂 There are a lot of different denominations and religions practised in South Africa, so this was just one church amongst many. But I think it is one of the earliest churches in our town.

  5. October 25, 2016 at 10:56 pm #

    What a great photo! I went to George a few times by train from Knysna when I was young. We so enjoyed that trip – I am not sure if the little steam train service is still running?

    • October 26, 2016 at 8:44 am #

      The steam train between Knysna and George isn’t running anymore. In 2006 there were major floods and landslides in the Southern Cape, and the railway line near the Kaaiman’s River bridge (between Wilderness and George) was damaged. I’m not sure why they never repaired it – or if the area was deemed to unstable to risk running a train through there. After that they started running the train between George and Mossel Bay. I haven’t been on that route yet.

Leave a comment