Rosie is a brave bear

20101108 - Rosie

A typical Rosie frown ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

For years when people asked me whether Rosie was a good watch dog, I’d say she has excellent hearing and an impressive bark but that she is not a very brave little bear. Often if there was a strange noise at night, she would leap up barking, but then expect one of us to follow her down the passage to investigate. If we were out on one of our photo drives, and stopped to look at some farm animals, she would stand behind our legs and peek out at these – to her – giant beasts. I wasn’t too bothered by it – I had no desire for Rosie to be harmed in our defence.

Recently, I had to admit that I was wrong. We had somebody break into our house while I was at home. I was sitting very quietly working on my computer and when I heard the initial bang, I thought it was just a door banging or a window rattling in the strong wind. Rosie, who was lying next to me, was alert and growling. And not the kind of growling she does when we are playing with her. Rather a deep, angry rumble. Then as the kitchen door flew open, she jumped up and ran barking towards the noise. Without hesitation. I ran behind her and by the time I got to the kitchen, Rosie was already there and the burglar was turning to make his escape. She chased him all the way off our property.

When she came back in again, I naturally praised her. She seemed to know that she had “done good”. For weeks after the break-in, Rosie was hyper alert and on edge, and while she is less jumpy now, she still goes to investigate if there is an unusual sound.

So Rosie is a brave bear and a very good watchdog.

This post is part of my daily posts for October 2016 – otherwise known as The October Dash

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

18 Comments on “Rosie is a brave bear”

  1. October 15, 2016 at 5:33 pm #

    Great pooch, give a rewarding steak!!!

  2. October 15, 2016 at 11:11 pm #

    Rosie is a hero – she very likely saved your life! So glad you are both safe.

    • October 16, 2016 at 8:25 am #

      I think the burglar never expected anyone to be in the house – let along a snarling, barking dog! – but I agree, things could have gone very badly. I’ve since read somewhere that the police advise people to keep there dogs indoors (especially at night) as an early warning system.

      • October 16, 2016 at 10:11 am #

        Very sensible suggestion, especially considering stories of outside dogs being poisoned and hurt by the bad guys. So relieved you’re alright. Lucky for Rosie’s excellent hearing!

  3. Eha
    October 16, 2016 at 1:28 am #

    What a great photo of Rosie – so glad she is still around! And looking after her home and Lady 🙂 ! The ‘frown’ probably simply comes from frustration she was not given time for a bit of a grooming session in front of the mirror: ‘us girls need that, Mommy!’ . . .

    • October 16, 2016 at 8:28 am #

      Rosie is my constant companion. As I’m writing this, she’s lying next to me. The frown usually happens if she doesn’t understand something we’ve said – especially when the “walk” might have been said quickly in a sentence! 😉

  4. October 16, 2016 at 8:50 am #

    Wow! Good dog, Rosie. I’m very impressed.

    • October 16, 2016 at 10:31 am #

      I was impressed and amazed – and very grateful to have her with me. She’s more than just a fun dog. ☺

  5. October 16, 2016 at 3:08 pm #

    That must have been a very scary experience. I’m glad Rosie was there to protect you! She is indeed a very brave (and adorable) bear. 🙂

    • October 18, 2016 at 10:50 am #

      It was scary – more so after it was over and I had a chance to think about it. Staffies are great dogs – very loyal and protective of their human family.

      • October 19, 2016 at 12:47 am #

        They are indeed! Terrible that cities like Montreal are trying to ban them.

      • October 19, 2016 at 3:46 pm #

        The top Staffie (Staffordshire Bull Terrier) breeders have a policy of “breeding out” aggression in these dogs. Most of the dog attacks I’ve heard of, are not pure-bred Staffies or Pitbulls. The two Staffies we have had – Rosie and Jessie – have been very even tempered dogs. When we had Jessie she played with the neighbour’s young kids and we never were worried about her hurting them.

  6. October 17, 2016 at 10:16 am #

    This is an amazing story! I certainly know that frown in Nala as well :).

    • October 18, 2016 at 10:54 am #

      Staffies are wonderful dogs, aren’t they? Really protective of their people.

  7. October 25, 2016 at 10:54 pm #

    Thank goodness you and your dog are OK. Well done to both of you for handling the sitauion so well.

    • October 26, 2016 at 8:45 am #

      Well, Rosie handled it very well. I’m not sure I did – just shouted at the guy to get out. Am trying not to think of what could have happened.

  8. January 13, 2017 at 2:35 am #

    Good girl!! And so glad you are ok! Whew!

Leave a comment