Spider photography

So besides practising my photographic skills on the birds in our garden, I’m also using the many spiders in our house to develop my bug photography skills. The Spider Club photographers make it look so easy (CLICK HERE for The Spider Club Gallery). Well, it isn’t! Most spiders are tiny. Then there’s the problem of getting a good spider photo – one which can be used for identification purposes – and having it against an interesting background.  Although I have now managed the first successfully a couple of times, my spiders have been on cream coloured walls i.e. not fascinating to a non-spider person.

Having nearly squashed the spider below when I opened the door for the dog this morning, I decided to try and take some photos of it. Again, another patient little spider!

Have to be careful where one puts one's hands!

Close-up of spider above

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Spider photography”

  1. December 17, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    Great photos. Gross spider! 🙂
    Sunshine xx

    • December 17, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

      Gross?! He’s such a cute little spider! 😉

      • December 20, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

        Sorry – no offence meant! I’m sure he’s cute in his own little way!

  2. December 17, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    The one taken from the side is incredible, Lisa! I’m not an expert on photography, but the angle is great. I love the graphic quality of that one.

    You inspire me to take more photos!

    • December 17, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

      Thanks Kathy! Taking the photo in silhouette was the only way I could think to make the spider look at least a little fierce! 😉

      I’m experimenting a lot with photography at this stage. Some things work, some things don’t.

      I was thinking about your problem in Haiti about uploading photos. I usually reduce the size of a photo I’ve download from the camera, which then also makes it a much smaller upload to WordPress.

  3. December 20, 2010 at 3:39 am #

    You can see all the little spider hairs on the second photo. Cool shot! I’m liking this spider fascination. They really do seem to be everywhere, so you should have some good research and photo projects ahead.

    • December 20, 2010 at 5:14 am #

      Thanks. I had to do *something* to make this little brown spider look more interesting!

Leave a comment