My brother owes me




Yep, he does. If he never had me (specifically a sister) in his life, he wouldn’t have become the person he is today. I made him a nicer person.  I apparently warded off his “feelings of loneliness, guilt and fear” as well as boosting his confidence. I also encourage in him “a spirit of generosity” and reduced his risk of depression. This is all “official” following the study done by researchers at  Brigham Young University.

Of course I also (and the study doesn’t mention this) developed in him patience (when I badgered him for attention or to help me with something), a spirit of forgiveness (when I traded his favourite toy car, for one that I preferred!), and a sense of responsibility (my parents expected him to “look out for” me).

Gee, he sure has a lot to be grateful for! ;-)

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Science/Technology


I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at and (my photoblog)


Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

4 Comments on “My brother owes me”

  1. August 10, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Hi there!

    Can’t help but wonder what our brothers will think of this? LOL, and the art compliments your post very nicely.

  2. Dave Joubert
    August 10, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    Well, I have 3 sisters so I must be an extra special guy

    • August 10, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

      Or it could be that you needed a lot of work to begin with!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 719 other followers

