What’s on my iPod?

I have mentioned before that I love listening to podcasts. Way back I wrote about my favourite “Bedtime Stories” (click on link), and although I still do listen to those podcasts, I have added several more to my playlist.

You can listen to episodes from the podcast archives on the websites (you can link to the podcast website by clicking on their titles), or download them via iTunes or your favourite podcatcher App. I use the Podcast Republic App on my smartphone.

Casefile: True Crime Podcast – a true crime podcast that is well researched, does not dwell on the graphic details of a case and has an Australian narrator with the most soothing voice ever. Start with Case 01: The Wanda Beach Murders and Case 02: The Somerton Man – both are Australian stories.

Death, Sex & Money – Three important topics of life that people hesitate to talk about openly. Anna Sale, the presenter, has a lovely voice and a gentle way of interviewing people. Start with: This Senator Saved My Loved Life, Anna Sale’s personal story.

Not By Accident: Sophie Harper, an Australian documentary filmmaker, tells the story of her decision to become a single mother. Sophie Harper tells her story with a mixture of narration and audio clips. Although hers is a situation I’m not familiar with, I found her storytelling compelling. Start with Episode 1: Insemination Story.

Reply All: This is a show about the Internet. The hosts have helpfully compiled a list of their favourite episodes as a starting point for new listeners here.

The Allusionist: Is a podcast about language and etymology by British presenter Helen Zaltzman (who has a great sense of humour). Some of my favourite episodes include: Episode 1: Ban the Pun, Episode 13: Mixed Emojions, Episode 20: Baby Talk, Episode 33: Please.

Unsolved Podcast: This podcast features stories of unsolved crimes from around the United States. It is hosted by Heidi Galore, a crime analyst and former police officer, so offers an “inside” perspective on crime. This is a new podcast series so start at episode 1.

Which podcasts do you listen to? Do you have any recommendations for me?

This post is part of my daily posts for October 2016 – otherwise known as The October Dash

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Film/Television/Radio, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

4 Comments on “What’s on my iPod?”

  1. October 13, 2016 at 9:08 am #

    What a great list..I also love, love, love “Modern love”

  2. October 13, 2016 at 1:55 pm #

    I am also ADDICTED to podcasts. I’ll definitely try some of your recommendations and I also listen to some of these. Have you listened to Strangers? That’s one of my favorites. Also Radiolab, 99% Invisible, Criminal, the Memory Palace, and Modern Love.

    • October 13, 2016 at 3:21 pm #

      I feel that since I started listening to podcasts years ago, they have become really popular. Am amazed at the high production value of even the smallest “personal podcasts”.

      The only ones I haven’t listened to from your list is the Memory Palace and Modern Love. More to explore! 🙂

Leave a comment